#Day 88: Why Solitude Matters (July 16,2015,Thursday)


Solitude as defined by dictionary.com is a noun: 

1. the state of being or living alone; seclusion: to enjoy one’s solitude.

2. remoteness from habitations, as of a place; absence of human activity: the solitude of the mountains.

3. a lonely, unfrequented place: a solitude in the mountains.

Being alone is often associated with being depressed or being aloof, usually something negative towards someone who prefers to do a “me time”. 
I personally disagree with this as solitude I believe brings inner peace and oportunity for people to reflect and appreciate life without the complexities of it.  Being in solitude does not necessarily mean you’re broken, but rather you just want to be better and understand things. 

Today, I had my solitude over an order of fish ball while waiting for my mom —-both physically (as I had no one with me) and virtually (I had no internet connection) and just spent time with myself, looking around cars passing by, children playing, observing some men bring down pizza ingredients from the truck, staring blankly at an old tree. It was a good 10 minutes of silence from the “busy place” where I usually am and a breather. I had the chance to plan for the things I have to do for tomorrow since it’s gonna be a holiday and at the same time  come up with storylines for the scripts that I’ll be working on. 

In a span of 10 minutes I have done a lot of things and I thank God for chances like this because it is when I am by myself that I feel his presence the most.

Photo credits to: 

http://belladepaulo.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/solitude

Leave a Reply

